The Holidays

The Holidays are coming up, how do we celebrate? Well I’ll tell you.

For Thanksgiving my parents, and my brother come over, sometimes my husbands parents, and his wayward brother comes over with his girlfriend, and their 5 kids. We set up the tables, and chairs, cook the turkey, and have most of the food ready. Everyone else brings their dishes, and we sit down to eat. Pretty simple. The kids go out to play until they start bickering about who gets to swing on the swing set.

 

Christmas…You would think that the birthday of Jesus would be a time of reflection, and rejoicing. But not this family. Oh it is for the most part on the adult side of things, but where the kids are concerned. No. Just no. I suppose it’s our fault that the kids of this generation have become so spoiled, and expect a substantial increase in presents every year.

Even the 18 to 21 year Olds have become this way. So, this year I’m putting my foot down. The kids will be getting four things each. 1 thing they need, 1 to read, 1 to wear, and 1 they want. That’s it. The 18 and 21 year olds are getting gift cards, and a can of mixed peanuts. I refuse to be the one that adds to their greedy nature anymore. This ends here.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely Love my kids. They are the light of my life, and I would do anything for them. But I will NOT let them grow up to be greedy, and worship material things.

 

Lord help me, they will not be happy at first, but in the long run they will thank me for it. I hope.

Leave a Reply

