Blaze Orange Day

Yesterday was a Blaze Orange Day. You know the one. Where you see deer hunters in orange EVERYWHERE you go. Even your husband gets up at the butt crack of dawn, (as ive stated in a previous post, I’m not a morning person šŸ˜ƒ) throws on his orange gear, and steps out into the cold to hunt some venison for our family. Now, I love hunting. I used to go hunting every year since the age of 12 when I received my gun saftey permit. But, I haven’t gone since my son was born a few years ago.

No, what’s funny to me, is that I see all these cars filled with men, and women from the cities wearing orange the day before hunting. (I know they are from the cities for two reasons, 1: the way they drive, and 2: because no local wears orange the day before hunting while they drive around) It’s like, hunting hasn’t even started yet, and your wearing your orange already? Are you afraid someone is going to shoot you while you are driving to your campsite? We aren’t that crazy out here in the sticks. We do abide by the law occasionally šŸ˜.

My husband was one of the lucky ones, he bagged a nice 8 point buck roughly 5 minutes after the sun started coming up. We now have venison to go with our home raised chicken, beef, pork, and garden grown veggies in our freezer to last the winter.

šŸ˜„ I’m one happy wife.

Leave a Reply

